My journey to becoming a web developer from scratch without a CS degree (and what I learned from..

Table of contents

No heading

No headings in the article.

I am sharing my journey on how I learned the ins and outs of web development and how I finally completed my first 300 hours of web development journey — so that others on a similar path will stay motivated to continue their journey. I hope to empower others to never give up on their hopes and dreams.

My progress was slow and steady because I was also improving other parts of my life that have helped me become a better person and ultimately a better developer.

My Background I have done my Graduation in Political science. However, having no prior experience with code, I felt lost and didn’t understand the value of these concepts. It felt as though the program was geared toward people who already knew how to code.

I completed projects, but I didn’t fully apply the new knowledge toward solving real-world problems or building practical skills. As the projects became more challenging, I didn’t have the courage to ask for help when I was stuck. so I was embarrassed to reach out.

Working Through freeCodeCamp freeCodeCamp is a free self-paced curriculum where you learn web development and gain skills by building projects in your free time. What got me most excited about this curriculum was that it helped me focus my time on building instead of worrying about what to build. Also if you get far along the program, you get to build projects for nonprofits!

Building a Supportive Community I decided to use Twitter and Linkedin as my main way of interacting with other developers and aspiring developers. I have been able to share learning resources, my struggles, accomplishments, and anything else that might benefit others in my field. Since I follow developers, my Twitter feed and Linkedin mainly consist of tech news, articles, resources, and any other technical goodies.

Thank You Again, a very special thanks to @freeCodeCamp, @developertea, @ThePracticalDev, @_100DaysOfCode, and my Twitter and Linkedin community for all of the guidance through my learning process.

https___www.freecodecamp.org_certification_riyanz63_responsive-web-design - Google Chrome 10_17_2022 10_11_25 PM.png